Old-Time Radio Set

Since I was very young I’ve had a fascination with Radio listening. When I was growing up in the 1960’s, what is generally known today as the old-time radio era had already passed, but there were some radio stations that would still play the old-time shows, mostly from the 1940’s and 1950’s. They were fascinating to listen to and it sparked my imagination. By the 1970’s such re-broadcasts of old-time radio had virtually ceased, although once in a while they could be found scanning the dial late at night. There were some revival shows in the style of the old-time radio that were broadcast, such as CBS Radio Mystery Theater with E.G. Marshall, which ran nightly from 1974 – 1982.

CBS Radio Mystery Theater

I remember lying in bed late at night listening to to the stories and E.G Marshall inviting listeners to return next time for another adventure in the macabre, then wishing listeners “Pleasant Dreams?“. There were other interesting things on the radio in the 1970’s such as the Doctor Demento Show and an occasional re-broadcast of the now infamous  “War of the Worlds” by Orson Welles. I also enjoyed listening to Larry Glick on WBZ in Boston. Eventually most radio formats became discussions of politics, and by the mid to late 1980’s this is about all radio had to offer.  For the most part on AM radio today it’s politics or finance mostly, which is too bad really because radio has much more to offer.

Shortwave Radio Bands

I became a shortwave listener in the 1980’s and discovered the wonderful world of international radio: Voice of America, BBC, Radio Netherlands, Deutsche Welle, and occasional English broadcasts from China, Japan, Romania and many other interesting places. It was fascinating to discover the world this way. This form of broadcasting has been in decline for many years now too, but fortunately the internet offers some great choices for worldwide radio. An ipad or ipod are great devices for exploring radio today. TuneIn Radio is a nice place and they have Apps for mobile devices too to take with you on the go.

Of course NPR has been around for a long time and there is always something interesting to listen to there. I thought I would list here some of my favorite radio programs I listen to on NPR:

There are many radio programs to discover on the internet too that are outside your local area (both national and international). A particularly interesting show about philosophy is:

These are my Radio Reflections for now. I may add some additional content in the future as I think of it. For others who love Radio as I do, feel free to make suggestions on additional content or links to radio programs of interest.

