So, I saw the film, “Eat Pray Love” (2010) recently and I liked this philosophy:

eat-pray-love“…I’ve come to believe that there exists in the universe something I call “The Physics of The Quest” – a force of nature governed by laws as real as the laws gravity or momentum. And the rule of Quest Physics maybe goes like this: “If you are brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting (which can be anything from your house to your bitter old resentments) and set out on a truth-seeking journey(either externally or internally), and if you are truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on that journey as a clue, and if you accept everyone you meet along the way as a teacher, and if you are prepared – most of all – to face (and forgive) some very difficult realities about yourself….then truth will not be withheld from you.” Or so I’ve come to believe.”    ~ Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat Pray Love.

In the film, a woman goes on a journey of self-discovery. The themes seem to be that Italy is explicitly centered on “pleasure,” India on “devotion,” and Bali on “balance.”  – See the article “Eat Pray Trash“. Now, I had seen this film in segments from time to time and it looked a bit silly to me, but when I saw the film in its entirety it made a great deal of sense. I watched it two more times after and it is quite well done, except for the ending. I just didn’t buy the love story at the end. I couldn’t see the match as something that was the end product of all that she had looked for and sought within herself. Maybe I am too realistic and see love as an emotion people can give and take away at their convenience (something I like to call the “love switch”). Love is not something you can rely on really. Yes, it feels good and lifts you up, carries you for a time, but in the end, there are practical things to consider. Most people choose self-preservation over love. That’s not romantic, but I have found it to be true in life. Maybe I just found the ending of the film too much of a fairy tale. Perhaps I am in need of more faith in the Power of Love to transform and become a fundamental constant in life, maybe even believe in fairy tales! Anyway, the film is called “Eat Pray Love” – so Love had to enter in some way.

It’s a fine film, good travel ways, good spiritual discovery, good romance toward the end and I especially like the Quest Physics philosophy. It’s a nice revelation and a good thought, much more satisfying than the lovers ending to me. If you have not seen the film “Eat Pray Love”, do check it out and watch it a second time to fully absorb it. That’s where you come to understand the concept of the Quest Physics, and if you are a traveler too, it will have an even deeper meaning. Normally I just like or dislike a film, but this one intrigued me enough to watch again, and I was glad I did. I recommend not one viewing, but at least two. Enjoy!

