I traveled to Scotland in late September  to early October this year. Quite a fascinating place I must say,  and it is steeped in some serious history of a people who I now have greater admiration for in having traveled there. What a defiant and proud people they are based on their history, and while the clans were long ago, they have city to city rivalries, and take their home Soccer teams quite seriously! They are a people of great achievements too and so many literary, artistic, scientific and historical figures that I was suitably impressed.  You can read about my journey to Scotland in my travel blog on a separate site (just click the photo below to go directly there) or visit my travel site at http://www.travbuddy.com/spocklogic

I rather like this opening stanza from a sort of bawdy Scottish poem by Robert Burns entitled Scotch Drink (written in 1785):

Let other poets raise a fracas
Bout vines, and wines, an drucken Bacchus,
An crabbit names an stories wrack us,
An grate our lug:
I sing the juice Scotch bear can mak us,
In glass or Jug.

For the full poem see the link (scotch-drink). If you have a poem, saying or story about Scotland, feel free to share them, whatever they may be. I don’t publish my travels here explicitly and have the external Blog for that, but any impressions from visiting my travel Blog are welcome too. I should mention as well that my Travel Blog is also part of a social networking site to interact with other travelers, publish reviews and, of course, share your travel blogs with a community of people sharing the same interests. In fact, during my trip to Scotland, I met up with Ian, who I knew from TravBuddy and had a good visit with in Glasgow. TravBuddy is a great way to meet other people who love travel too, and share your adventures in an interactive way. I highly recommend it. If you would like to become a member, click here: Join TravBuddy

