drawing-hands
1.) I stopped watching/listening to the news at the beginning of the year. I am starting to feel a bit better! It’s not that I don’t care, but it’s all so negative and very repetitive. I’m tired of terrorism (7 days a week, 365 days a year for 12+ years) and Russia (ever since I can remember decades back), not to mention a plethora of diseases and a seemingly endless stream of sundry criminal activity. Enough is enough and I’d rather be uninformed than unhappy. I can’t avoid it entirely (the ‘News’) but can limit my exposure and see if it has further beneficial effects for me.

bad_news

All the news that’s fit to print today – all bad!


2.) My brother Jerry’s 2nd daughter was born at end of January. Her name is Nina Victoria, born on January 29, 2015, 7 lbs. 1 oz. I have some photos of the baby girl to share:

jerrys-2nd-daughter

My brother Jerry’s 2nd daughter


3.) The New England Patriots’s won their 4th Super Bowl on February 1, 2015, defeating the Seattle Seahawks 28–24 at University of Pheonix Stadium in Arizona. Booya!

new-england-patriots-super-bowl

New England Patriot’s – Super Bowl XLIX Champions!


4.) The visa for Tong was approved by the Chinese consulate in Guangzhou on February 3, 2015, and she can come to the USA now. Here is the timeline, more for my own reference, perhaps, but maybe of interest to others. See my blog post Looking Forward III for reference.

I-129F petition for visa (January 29, 2013)
Visa petition approved (September 12, 2014)
Notice for K-1 visa received (October 11, 2014)
Visa Interview Letter received (January 9, 2015)
Visa Interview in Guangzhou (February 3, 2015)

All-in-all, just about a year to have an approval for Tong to visit the USA from China. There is quite a lot of bureaucracy involved in such things, but it’s done now. Part of the problem is that the US Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is involved in the process too (hence the ~8 months just to have a visa petition approved to apply for the visa!). It’s a Ridiculous department (DHS) and we need to get rid of it, but I won’t get started on that.

Chengdu-2

Me, Tong and her daughter, Yee, in Chengdu, China (Nov. 28, 2014)


5.) My father’s health is continuing to improve I think, and he had quite the difficult time last year and almost was near death. But he’s back, an although still has some issues, he says he feels good and continues to feel better. I last saw him 0n June 9, 2014 with my daughter Jennifer (a first since we had all been together since she was born in 1990). Tong and I will visit him when she comes to the USA…

Father&son-2014

My Dad, Jennifer, and Me – 3 generations!


Just some Life Notes here to share in 2015 for things I thought of note. This year is starting out great and the trend will continue I hope. It’s taken me a little over 1/2 century to reach a point in my life where I feel really satisfied and content (for the most part) about where I am as a person in the present, how I reflect on the past and what I see ahead of me in the future. As Joseph Campbell said, “The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are.” Understanding this is one thing, but really feeling it is something special!

Brian-Erice-Self

Erice, Sicily with view of Trapani (August 1, 2014)


We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.
T. S. Eliot- 1955Through the unknown, unremembered gate
When the last of earth left to discover
Is that which was the beginning;
At the source of the longest river
The voice of the hidden waterfall
And the children in the apple-tree

Not known, because not looked for
But heard, half-heard, in the stillness
Between two waves of the sea.
Quick now, here, now, always–
A condition of complete simplicity
(Costing not less than everything)
And all shall be well and
All manner of thing shall be well
When the tongues of flames are in-folded
Into the crowned knot of fire
And the fire and the rose are one.

~ T.S. Eliot (From the poem ‘Little Gidding’, 1942)

